South Island

Well, I’ve surived the first 4 weeks at Frimely, and have reached the two week holiday break! I’ve been planning a trip where I go to the south island during this time, as I’ve heard it’s beautiful and there’s a lot to see. I’m going to be traveling on a bus tour for about 14 days, so I apologize to those religious blog checkers, as it might not be updated or as comprehensive as it has been in the past. However, I will do my best to leave brief bits of information whenever I find myself with internet access.

If you’re interested in where I’ll be during the next two weeks, here is a map of the route I’ll be travelling on! http://www.magicbus.co.nz/main/productDetail/index.cfm?productID=7 I’ll be in Picton tonight, and then everywhere that has a large yellow dot from then on. It will be a fast trip, with me only really seeing the highlights of the south island, but I tell myself anything I see is more than I normally would!

The interesting thing, is that many of the people I talk to in Hawke’s Bay on the North Island tell about how they’ve only gone to a few of the major cities on the South Island, or haven’t really travelled at all. They say that New Zealand is about the size of California, but that there’s a drastic difference in the climate and environment on the south island…. In a short period of time, you can drive through rainforest, to glaciers, to ocean beach, etc.  I’m looking forward to the journey, although I know it will end up being exhausting and a challenge. But just think of the blog entries when I return!

Wish me well, and I’ll be thinking of all of you!

2 thoughts on “South Island

  1. I look forward to anything you can share
    when ever you have a chance
    but don’t feel obligated…
    have the best time FOR YOU!

    love you and sure wish I could be there checking it all out with you,
    g

  2. This is great. I’m so glad you have the chance to travel a little and see cool stuff. Four weeks of work and 2 weeks off! Cool!

    I’ll be checking in on you. Have Fun!

    Peggy

Leave a Reply

